School Board Information

The School Board believes that…

The role of the Board

The role of a school board is outlined in the School Education Act 1999. In essence, the role of school board is one of setting the long term future for the school and maintaining oversight (not management) of the school's operation. It is not about running the school – that is the job of the principal. It is about providing additional expertise to help the school achieve the best outcomes for the students.

The responsibilities of an Independent Public School Board are to:

The School Board does not:

Roles of School Board members

Parent members of School Boards bring their experience as parents at the school, and the views and context of the wider school community to School Board meetings.

Community members bring a particular skill to the School Board. This may include business, accounting or building skills, or some other skill that the school is looking for at that time. Department of Education employees bring their educational expertise to School Board meetings.

2022 School Board:

Return to Top

Our School